Free State Justice

ACHIEVING LIVED EQUALITY

 

 

At yesterday’s advocacy day in Annapolis, volunteers from FreeState Justice and the Human Rights Campaign spoke with dozens of legislative offices.  We called on our legislators to protect LGBTQ youth in Maryland by supporting bills that would prohibit the harmful practice of conversion therapy and support services for youth experiencing homelessness.  We are grateful for the passion and energy of our volunteer advocates.

FreeState Justice is partenring with the Homeless Persons Representation Project and Youth Empowered Society to push for housing and services for youth experiencing homelessness.

Tell the House of Delegates Appropriations Committee to VOTE YES on HB 1224 – the Ending Youth Homelessness Act!

Every night in Maryland, thousands of youth are without the safety, stability, and support of family and a home. Up to 40% of youth experiencing homelessness identify as LGBTQ. Homelessness at this critical life stage jeopardizes their health and well-being, and leaves them vulnerable to exploitation and adult homelessness. This is unacceptable.

HB 1224 will create a grant program at the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development to fund housing and services for youth experiencing homelessness. This state investment will ensure that LGBTQ youth experiencing homelessness are able to meet their immediate needs and pursue their long-term goals. Every youth in Maryland should have a chance to thrive.

 

House Appropriations Committee Chairperson Maggie McIntosh with advocates asking the Committee to help house our youth!

Call the Delegates on the Appropriations Committee now and say:

“It’s time to end youth homelessness! Pass HB 1224 and HOUSE OUR YOUTH!”

Del. Maggie McIntosh maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us 410-323-4052
Del. Tawanna Gaines tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us 410-841-3058
Del. Ben Barnes ben.barnes@house.state.md.us 410-841-3346
Del. Wendell Beitzel wendell.beitzel@house.state.md.us 410-841-3356
Del. Mary Beth Carozza marybeth.carozza@house.state.md.us 410-841-3356
Del. Mark Chang mark.chang@house.state.md.us 410-841-3511
Del. Barrie Ciliberti barrie.ciliberti@house.state.md.us 410-841-3511
Del. Jefferson Ghrist jefferson.ghrist@house.state.md.us 410-841-3555
Del. Robin Grammer robin.grammer@house.state.md.us 410-841-3298
Del. Ana Sol Gutierrez ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us 410-841-3181
Del. Keith Haynes keith.haynes@house.state.md.us 410-841-3801
Del. Shelly Hettleman shelly.hettlement@house.state.md.us 410-841-3833
Del. Michael Jackson Michael.jackson@house.state.md.us 410-841-3103
Del. Adrienne Jones adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us 410-841-3391
Del. Marc Korman Marc.Korman@house.state.md.us 410-841-3649
Del. Carol Krimm Carol.Krimm@house.state.md.us 410-841-3472
Del. Clarence Lam Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us 410-841-3205
Del. Brooke Lierman Brooke.Lierman@house.state.md.us 410-841-3319
Del. Tony McConkey tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us 410-841-3406
Del. Mike McKay Mike.McKay@house.state.md.us 410-841-3321
Del. Aruna Miller aruna.miller@house.state.md.us 410-841-3090
Del. Kirill Reznik kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us 410-841-3039
Del. Theodore Sophocleus ted.sophocleus@house.state.md.us 410-841-3372
Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us 410-841-3101
Del. David Vogt david.vogt@house.state.md.us 410-841-3118
Del. Pat Young pat.young@house.state.md.us 410-841-3544
 

 If you’re interested in volunteering with us, please visit freestate-justice.org/support-us/!

Connect with Us
 

FreeState Justice
2526 St. Paul Street, First floor,
Baltimore, MD 21218(410) 625-5428

freestate-justice.org

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *